top of page
Search
  • Million Dollar Tramp

Back to school

I've been cutting hair for a little over 8 months now having lessons every so often when I or the barber could fit one in. I've been getting a lot more confident with my cutting but when an opportunity arose for me to rent a chair in a local hairdressers I didnt feel quite ready. So I enrolled on a barber course at Preston's College studying Level Two Barbering on Wednesday nights. There is a good mix of people in the class and a lot to learn!! So far I've had four lessons and last night we got the first chance to cut some hair........sort of!!

Meet Ricki!! Last night we learnt about sectioning the hair and cutting at 0, 45 and 90 degress. I've never sectioned hair or dealt with hair this long so it was quite a challenge but always good learning new techniques. While I don't think I'll be cutting hair this length very often I defo think long hair is coming back (well I'm growing mine so it must be!!).

The other week we had a local barber in who demonstrated a basic short back and sides with a zero fade. He started at the back of the head using clippers only to blend and did the top last, which is quite different to how I normally do a short back and sides. But I got the chance to have a practice this week on Calum and think it came out pretty good, although I only went to a number 2 on the sides.

We're off for two weeks now over Easter but I have some Health & Safety reading to do (yay!!) and got a few people lined up for a trim next week, but if you need a trim then give me a shout!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page